Posted on

The Connection To Music From Your Childhood

     By all accounts, 1977 was the year I truly discovered music as an integral part of my life. I was three years old, but I had a strong connection to it. My sister, who is ten years older than me, played music quite a bit in our house. Some of my earliest memories include listening to records with her, like The Eagles’ Hotel California, and Peter Frampton’s Frampton Comes Alive. However, the record that had the greatest impact on me was Kiss’ Destroyer. At first, it was the album cover that drew me in, complete with a painting of four ghoulish characters in black and white makeup and outlandish costumes, with a smouldering wasteland behind them. But it was the combination of staring at the cover and listening to the record at the same time that blew my mind. I would go from afraid, to confused, to excited with each passing moment, every time I listened.

This special time in my life set a precedent for my relationship with music for the rest of my life, all the way to present day, 35 years later. I still love Kiss just as much as I did when I was a child, but this isn’t about Kiss. This is about the seed that was planted many years ago, and how it affected the rest of my life in a positive way. I do hold a special place in my heart for the music of my childhood, but what is even more intriguing to me is that I never lost the passion for music that I had as a kid. In fact, that passion has grown exponentially, in a very organic way.

Like many others, I can hear a song from my childhood, even a couple notes, and feel like I was transported back in time. There have been times in the recent past that a song will come on the radio, and I feel like I experience something I went through as a kid while listening to the same song. For example, I have felt the same warm summer breeze hit my face that I felt many years ago coming through my bedroom window while listening to a song. That seems so unlikely, but it is very real. Please let me know if any of you have experienced something similar.

Your Friend,

Mike

About Mike's Music And Concert Blog

Music and concert freak...and proud of it!

Leave a Reply

