Posted on

Prince: 30 Years Of Purple Rain

With today being the 30th anniversary of Prince’s iconic Purple Rain soundtrack, instead of giving you my track by track breakdown, I want to give you a little background on how that record affected my life at the time. The summer of 1984 was a strange time for me. I was 10 years old, and my Mom had unexpectedly passed away a year before. I was still trying to pick myself up and move forward with my childhood, no matter how difficult it was. As always, music provided me a fantasy world where I could escape, but it was more important than ever at that time.

I was already well aware of Prince from the radio singles off of the 1999 record. The release of the first single “When Doves Cry” caught my ear, but when I first heard “Let’s Go Crazy,” I was hooked. Sometime very shortly after the release of the full soundtrack, I gathered up some crumpled up dollar bills, and a bunch of change to make up the difference, and rode my bike to my local record store. I walked up to the counter where some vinyl copies were displayed, and emptied my pockets onto it. I meticulously counted out the change after I was given the total as the clerk chuckled. I rode home carefully carrying what would become my best friend for the rest of ’84, well into ’85 and beyond.

Those songs spoke to me in a way no ther songs had before. I listened to all the intricacies with the utmost attention. I recorded myself singing the lyrics into my tape recorder, convinced that my voice could mirror all the different voices Prince could muster. In short, when I needed someone or something to help me through a difficult time, Purple Rain was there for me then, and still is 30 years later. I have many favorite records, but I have an emotional connection to this record like no other. Happy 30th anniversary from both my 10 year old self, and my 40 year old self!

Mike

About Mike's Music And Concert Blog

Music and concert freak...and proud of it!

Leave a Reply

